Open-Access-Policy

Background

Open Access stands for unlimited and free access to quality-tested scientific information on the internet. By eliminating technical, financial and legal barriers, Open Access helps accelerate scientific innovation processes and improve the visibility of research results. Researchers are thus supported in their research and publication processes and the benefits of publicly funded research maximized. As a member of the Leibniz Association ZPID is committed to Open Access. It follows the Berlin Declaration on Open Access to Scientific Knowledge and the Open Access Policy of the Leibniz Association 2016-2020. Moreover, in its capacity as a research-based information infrastructure organization ZPID views itself as a public open science institute for psychology.

Recommendations and commitments

ZPID encourages its scientists to publish their research findings according to the Open Access Principle. At ZPID first publications initially appear in open access publication media and – legal terms permitting – are made available in parallel or subsequently on its own repository PsychArchives as quickly as possible. By first publications under open access conditions ZPID recommends publishing under a free use license (e.g., Creative Commons Attribution).

In the case of a parallel or subsequent open access publication, ZPID scientists involved in contracting with publishers are asked not to give publishers the exclusive right to use publications, but - as far as possible - to permanently secure their own right of exploitation and to secure a simple unrestricted right of use transferable to ZPID. Only thereby can, in addition to the eventual commercial use by publishers, free access be guaranteed. ZPID recommends that when applying for projects its scientists also acquire funds for open access publications.

ZPID also sees research data as a valuable result of its research. In dealing with research data, ZPID orients itself on the corresponding recommendations of the German Society for Psychology (DGPs).

ZPID itself provides the infrastructure services necessary for data collection and evaluation as well as archiving and accessibility (see below) and makes these available to the field of psychology. It requires its scientists to use these services in their own research work and in addition (for example, by feedback on the usability of the services) to actively contribute to their further development.

Implementation

ZPID promotes open access by addressing the entire research cycle in psychology - consisting of the phases information search, study planning, preregistering studies, data collection, data analysis, data archiving and publishing with an open, integrated Infrastructure. This includes:

  • the psychology search portal PubPsych, which includes among others the reference databases PSYNDEX and PSYNDEX Tests
  • the collaborative study planning and analysis web application PsychNotebook
  • the preregistration platform Registered Reports in Psychology
  • the online and offline data collection service PsychLab
  • the repository PsychArchives, which not only includes publications but also research data, evaluation scripts and audiovisual media
  • the open access publishing platform PsychOpen (Gold/Green/CAMA)

Furthermore, ZPID promotes Open Access by:

  • identifying publications of its scientists whose free access is legally permitted (e.g., by integration with publication management) and offering them via PsychArchives.
  • providing freely available publications of its scientists to LeibnizOpen.
  • providing its scientists upon request by the respective division heads with funding possibilities for open access publication fees.
  • informing and advising its scientists about Open Access and clarifying legal issues related to open access publishing of their research results.

For this purpose, ZPID has set up the position of an Open Access contact person.

Status: August 8, 2018
 

Contact person

PD Dr. Erich Weichselgartner
Head of Archiving and Publication Services 

+49 (0)651 201-2056

Open-Access-Policy

Hintergrund

Open Access steht für den unbeschränkten und kostenlosen Zugang zu qualitätsgeprüfter wissenschaftlicher Information im Internet. Durch den Wegfall technischer, finanzieller und rechtlicher Barrieren trägt Open Access dazu bei, wissenschaftliche Innovationsprozesse zu beschleunigen und die Sichtbarkeit von Forschungsergebnissen zu verbessern. Dadurch werden wissenschaftlich Arbeitende in ihren Forschungs- und Publikationsprozessen unterstützt und der Nutzen öffentlich geförderter Forschung maximiert. Das ZPID als Mitglied der Leibniz-Gemeinschaft bekennt sich zu Open Access. Es folgt damit der "Berliner Erklärung über offenen Zugang zu wissenschaftlichem Wissen" und der "Open-Access-Policy der Leibniz-Gemeinschaft 2016-2020". Darüber hinaus versteht es sich in seiner Eigenschaft als forschungsbasierte Informationsinfrastruktur als Public-Open-Science-Institut für die Psychologie.

Empfehlungen und Verpflichtungen

Das ZPID ermutigt seine Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler, ihre Forschungsergebnisse im Sinne des Open-Access-Prinzips zu veröffentlichen. Dies geschieht im ZPID möglichst unmittelbar durch die Erstveröffentlichung in Open-Access-Publikationsmedien und – im Rahmen der rechtlichen Möglichkeiten – durch parallele oder schnellstmögliche nachträgliche Zugänglichmachung der Publikationen über sein institutseigenes Repositorium PsychArchives. Bei Erstveröffentlichung als Open-Access-Publikation empfiehlt das Institut die Publikation unter einer freien Nutzungslizenz (z. B. Creative Commons Attribution).

Für den Fall einer parallelen oder nachträglichen Open-Access-Veröffentlichung werden die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler des ZPID aufgefordert, bei Vertragsabschlüssen mit Verlagen diesen nicht die ausschließlichen Nutzungsrechte an Publikationen einzuräumen, sondern sich – soweit möglich – ein eigenes Verwertungsrecht dauerhaft zu sichern und ein unbeschränktes einfaches Nutzungsrecht an das ZPID zu übertragen. Nur hierdurch kann, zusätzlich zur etwaigen kommerziellen Nutzung durch Verlage, der freie Zugang gewährleistet werden. Das ZPID empfiehlt seinen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern, bei der Beantragung von Projekten auch Drittmittel für Open-Access-Veröffentlichungen einzuwerben.

Das ZPID sieht Forschungsdaten ebenfalls als wertvolles Ergebnis seiner Forschung an. Für den Umgang mit Forschungsdaten orientiert sich das ZPID an den dementsprechenden Empfehlungen der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Psychologie (DGPs).

Das ZPID betreibt selbst Infrastrukturangebote (siehe unten) zur Datenerhebung und -auswertung sowie zu deren Archivierung und Bereitstellung und stellt diese dem Fach Psychologie zur Verfügung. Es verpflichtet seine Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler dazu, diese Angebote im Rahmen der eigenen Forschungsarbeit ebenfalls zu nutzen und darüber hinaus (beispielsweise durch Feedback zur
Usability der Angebote) aktiv zu deren Weiterentwicklung beizutragen.

Umsetzung

Das ZPID fördert Open Access, indem es den gesamten Forschungszyklus in der Psychologie – bestehend aus den Phasen Informieren/Recherchieren, Studien planen, Studien prä-registrieren, Daten erheben, Daten analysieren, Daten archivieren und publizieren – mit einem offenen, integrierten Infrastrukturangebot unterstützt. Dazu gehören:

  • das Psychologie-Suchportal PubPsych, das unter anderem die Referenzdatenbanken PSYNDEX und PSYNDEX Tests umfasst.
  • die kollaborative Studienplanungs- und Analyseumgebung PsychNotebook
  • die Prä-Registrierungsplattform "Registered Reports in Psychology"
  • die Online- und Offline-Datenerhebungsinfrastruktur PsychLab
  • das Repositorium PsychArchives, in dem neben Publikationen auch Forschungsdaten, Auswertungsskripte oder audiovisuelle Medien abgelegt werden können.
  • die Open-Access-Publikationsplattform PsychOpen GOLD (GREEN/CAMA)

Weiterhin fördert das ZPID Open Access, indem es:

  • Publikationen seiner Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler, deren freie Verfügbarmachung rechtlich zulässig ist, identifiziert (etwa durch Integration mit dem Publikationsmanagement) und über PsychArchives bereitstellt.
  • frei verfügbare Publikationen seiner Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler für LeibnizOpen bereitstellt.
  • seinen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern auf Antrag über die Bereichsleitungen Finanzierungsmöglichkeiten für  Publikationsgebühren von Open-Access-Publikationsmedien bereitstellt.
  • seine Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler zu Open Access informiert und berät sowie bei der Klärung rechtlicher Fragen im Zusammenhang mit der Open-Access-Veröffentlichung ihrer Forschungsergebnisse unterstützt.

Zu diesem Zweck richtet das ZPID die Position einer Open-Access-Ansprechpartnerin oder eines Open-Access-Ansprechpartners ein.

Stand: 08.08.2018

Ansprechpartner

PD Dr. Erich Weichselgartner
Leiter Archivierungs- und Veröffentlichungsdienste

+49 (0)651 201-2056